2020 Mexico City ePrix: Mitch Evans claims victory for Panasonic Jaguar Racing

By Divyank Kushagra Bansal | on February 18, 2020

Panasonic Jaguar Racing's Mitch Evans drove a flawless race to win the 2020 Mexico City ePrix crown, which also happens to be his second consecutive podium finish of the season.

4 races. 4 different winners. That's how I can sum up the 2019-20 ABB FIA Formula E season so far. This time, Panasonic Jaguar Racing's Mitch Evans converted his second-place start in the 2020 Mexico City ePrix into a dominant victory - perhaps the most unchallenged victory in Formula E's history. With the fastest lap under his belt too, Evans secured the maximum possible 26 points, which puts him on top of the Formula E leaderboard with 47 points. Alexander Sims, who managed a top-5 finish with fifth place, is behind Evans by just one point (overall).

2020 Mexico City EPrix - Nissan e.dams

Behind Evans, DS Techeetah's Antonio Felix da Costa had to overcome multiple strategy slip-ups by his team in order to clinch second place. His teammate and defending Formula E World Champion, Jean-Eric Vergne, felt he was let down by the management as well, bringing home a fourth-place finish. The DS Techeetah pair was cut by Nissan e.dams' Sebastien Buemi, who claimed the final spot on the podium in Mexico - putting a much-needed end to his streak of scoring no points in the previous three rounds.

As for Mahindra Racing, their progress was marred by the mandatory penalty slapped on the team for exceeding the gearbox replacement limit. Despite qualifying third, Mahindra driver Pascal Wehrlein finished in ninth place, followed by his teammate Jerome d'Ambrosio in tenth.

2020 Mexico City EPrix - Panasonic Jaguar Racing

Evans took the lead after a rough move alongside polesitter Andre Lotterer (Porsche) on Lap 1 and led the race thereon until the chequered flag, without any real threat to his lead - including a safety car period. Lotterer, meanwhile, was pushed off the track while attempting to defend his position and he dropped back a few places. Geox Dragon's Nico Mueller, gunning for a place in the top-5, misjudged Turn 1 and as he braked too late into the corner, he ended up into the barriers - the first retirement of the race.

As it turned out, Mueller would be one of many racers who'd be handed DNFs during the course of the Mexico City ePrix, with names like Felipe Massa (Rokit Venturi), Andre Lotterer (TAG Heuer Porsche), Nyck de Vries (Mercedes-Benz EQ), Daniel Abt (Audi Sport ABT) and Sam Bird (Envision Virgin Racing) joining the list.

Read more:

2020 Santiago ePrix: BMW's Maximilian Günther scores maiden Formula E win in last-lap thriller

Tags: ABB FIA Formula E Formula E Mahindra Racing Panasonic Jaguar Racing

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.