Finalists of the 2015 World Car Awards announced

By Divyanshu Boora | on February 10, 2015

The event, which kickstarted with this announcement, will end on April 2, 2015 by disclosing the winner in each of the five categories.

The dates are set and the nominees have been disclosed for the World Car Awards taking place on April 2, 2015. The event will take place at the New York International Motor Show and the winners of five categories – World Car of the Year, World Luxury Car, World Performance Car, World Green Car and World Car Design – will be announced on the occasion.

A panel of seventy-five selectively chosen international automotive journalists selected the following cars as the World Car of the Year’s participants in the World Car of the Year, World Luxury Car and World Performance Car categories by secret ballot. These votes were given on the basis of their experiences with each car.

The 10 finalists of 2015 World Car of the Year are:

BMW 2 Series Active Tourer

Citroën C4 Cactus

Ford Mustang

Hyundai Genesis

Jeep Renegade


Mercedes-Benz C-Class

MINI 5 door / MINI 4 door Hard Top

Nissan Qashqai

Volkswagen Passat

The 2015 World Luxury Car will be chosen from these top ten finalists:

BMW i8


Cadillac ATS Coupe

Cadillac Escalade/ESV

Kia K900

Lexus NX

Lexus RC

Lincoln MKC

Mercedes-Benz S Coupe

Range Rover Autobiography Black LWB

The World Performance Car top ten finalists are:

Audi S1

Audi S3

Audi TT / TTS

Bentley Continental GT Speed

BMWM4 Coupe/M3 Sedan

Corvette Z06

Dodge Challenger SRT Hellcat

Jaguar F-TYPE R Coupe

Lexus RC-F

Mercedes-Benz AMG GT

The World Green Car category will be handled slightly differently. Five ‘green technology’ experts were appointed by the World Car Awards Steering Committee last year to thoroughly review all documents and specifications of each car in the lists. The final list to be reviewed by the 75 jurors in the second round will happen this month. The finalists in this category are:

BMW i8

Hyundai x35/Tucson Fuel Cell

Kia Soul EV

Volvo XC90 T8 Twin Engine

Volkswagen Golf GTE

Cars fighting for the World Car Design of the Year will also go through similar process and include cars like:

BMW 2 Series Active Tourer

Citroën C4 Cactus

Mercedes C-Class

Porsche Macan

Volvo XC90

The next pit stop for The Road to the World Car will be at the Geneva International Auto Show which will take place on March 3, 2015. The journey will end at the New York International Auto Show on Thursday, April 2, 2015 where all the winners will be declared.

Also read - 2019 World Car Awards: Top three finalists announced in Geneva

Jaguar I-Pace wins 2019 World Car of the Year award

Tags: world car awards

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.