F1 British Grand Prix: Lewis Hamilton Storms to Record-breaking Ninth Silverstone Win

Lewis Hamilton ended his long win drought with a chaotic victory at the 2024 F1 British Grand Prix, securing his ninth career win at the iconic Silverstone Circuit.

By Divyam Dubey | on July 7, 2024 Follow us on Autox Google News

Lewis Hamilton delivered a thrilling performance at Silverstone, securing a dramatic victory in the rain-affected British Grand Prix. This win marked his ninth at this iconic circuit, shattering the previous record he shared with himself (Hungary) and Michael Schumacher (France) for most wins at a single Grand Prix. The race began with Hamilton strategically positioned behind his Mercedes teammate, pole-sitter George Russell. However, as the drizzle started on Lap 18, Hamilton seized the opportunity and overtook Russell. Meanwhile, Lando Norris, who overtook Verstappen on lap 16, surged forward, passing both Mercedes drivers by Lap 21. Norris held the lead until Lap 34 when Russell was forced to retire. With the track drying, the tyre strategy became crucial. Hamilton opted for soft tyres on Lap 38, while Verstappen chose the more durable hard compound. Norris stayed out for one more lap before switching to softs. The final laps saw a thrilling chase between these three drivers. In his emotional final home race for Mercedes, Hamilton dug deep and held off the challenge to take the checkered flag. This victory cemented his legacy at Silverstone and marked a significant milestone in Formula 1 history.

Also Read: F1: Ferrari Protege Oliver Bearman Joins Haas, Signs Multi-Year Deal

British Grand Prix: Race Result

F1 British Grand Prix 2024

Piastri secured fourth place, while Sainz, who made a successful late bid for the fastest lap with an extra pitstop for soft tyres near the end, finished fifth. Hulkenberg finished sixth, followed by Stroll, Alonso, Albon, and Yuki Tsunoda. Red Bull’s Sergio Perez started from the pit lane after changing his engine following a disastrous qualifying session on Saturday. He made a poor decision to switch to intermediate tyres during the first rain shower and had to pit again for another set when the rain intensified.

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes  52 Laps
2 Max Verstappen Red Bull +1.465s
3 Lando Norris McLaren +7.547s
4 Oscar Piastri McLaren +12.429s
5 Carlos Sainz Ferrari +47.318s
6 Nico Hulkenberg Haas +55.722s
7 Lance Stroll Aston Martin +56.569s
8 Fernando Alonso Aston Martin  +63.577s
9 Alex Albon Williams +68.387s
10 Yuki Tsunoda VCARB +79.303s
11 Logan Sargeant Williams +88.960s
12 Kevin Magnussen Haas +90.153s
13 Daniel Ricciardo VCARB +1 Lap
14 Charles Leclerc Ferrari +1 Lap
15 Valtteri Bottas Sauber +1 Lap
16 Esteban Ocon Alpine +2 Laps
17 Sergio Perez Red Bull +2 Laps
18 Zhou Guanyu Sauber +2 Laps
19 George Russell Mercedes  DNF
20 Pierre Gasly Alpine DNF

Also Read: F1: Pierre Gasly to Continue with Alpine, Signs Multi-year Extension Contract

Leclerc also made the same strategic error, sacrificing a likely points finish to end up in 14th place, three spots ahead of Perez. Gasly didn't start the race, pulling into the pits on the warm-up lap due to a gearbox problem.

Tags: F1 British Grand Prix

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.