F1 Miami Grand Prix: Lando Norris Beats Max Verstappen to Win his First Formula 1 Race

Lando Norris was beaming over the radio after winning the F1 Miami Grand Prix, thanking his McLaren crew for a flawless strategy.

By Divyam Dubey | on May 6, 2024 Follow us on Autox Google News

At the 2024 Miami Grand Prix, a dramatic turn of events saw Lando Norris win his first Formula 1 race. With the help of a mid-race safety car intervention, McLaren passed Red Bull's Max Verstappen. The win ends Norris' record for most podium finishes without a Grand Prix win, and it's McLaren's first win in a race with a rich history for the team. After a mid-race incident ended Verstappen's chances of winning his fifth race in six, McLaren was able to take the lead during the safety car period. Norris made a faultless pit stop and emerged from the mayhem in command. The McLaren moved away, and even though Verstappen was after a Miami hat-trick, Norris skillfully held his ground. Ferrari's Charles Leclerc finished a creditable third, followed closely by his teammate Carlos Sainz, who was later dropped to fifth because of a post-race penalty.

F1 Miami Grand Prix: Race Result

Ferrari finished third in Miami, with Charles Leclerc taking the final podium spot. In the meantime, Carlos Sainz battled fiercely with Piastri and finished fourth, but Piastri suffered front wing damage, meaning he couldn't get any points. Capitalising on the mayhem, Sergio Perez finished sixth and led the charge ahead of Lewis Hamilton's Mercedes.

F1 Mercedes in Miami Grand Prix 2024

Also Read: F1 Miami GP: Verstappen Wins the Sprint Race; Leclerc, Perez Complete Podium

Like Norris, Yuki Tsunoda of VCARB benefited from the safety car intervention, finishing eighth after an outstanding first stint. The Mercedes of George Russell came in eighth, followed by Fernando Alonso and Esteban Ocon, who scored Alpine's first point of the season.

At first, expecting to place in the top 10, Haas was disappointed when Nico Hulkenberg dropped down the order and finished in 11th place, barely ahead of Pierre Gasly's Alpine.

Daniel Ricciardo finished in 15th place after a strong Sprint performance. After a furious fight between Lance Stroll of Aston Martin and Valtteri Bottas of Sauber, Stroll got a 10-second penalty.

Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Lando Norris McLaren F1 Team 57 Laps
2 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing 7.612s
3 Charles Leclerc Scuderia Ferrari 9.920s
4 Sergio Perez Red Bull Racing 14.650s
5 Carlos Sainz Scuderia Ferrari 16.407s
6 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes F1 Team 16.585s
7 Yuki Tsunoda VCARB 26.185s
8 George Russell Mercedes F1 Team 34.789s
9 Fernando Alonso Aston Martin F1 Team 37.107s
10 Esteban Ocon Alpine F1 Team 39.746s
11 Nico Hulkenberg Haas F1 Team 40.789s
12 Pierre Gasly Alpine F1 Team 44.958s
13 Oscar Piastri McLaren F1 Team 49.756s
14 Zhou Guanyu Sauber 49.979s
15 Daniel Ricciardo VCARB 50.956s
16 Valtteri Bottas Sauber 52.356s
17 Lance Stroll Aston Martin F1 Team 55.173s
18 Alex Albon Williams Racing 76.091s
19 Kevin Magnussen Haas F1 Team 84.683s
20 Logan Sargeant Williams Racing DNF

Also Read: F1: Sebastian Vettel to Drive Senna's 1993 McLaren MP4/8 at Imola Grand Prix

Emotions were running high for Norris as the drivers headed back to the pits, and he, his race engineer, and team manager Zak Brown celebrated a historic win—McLaren's first Grand Prix victory since Monza in 2021—over the radio.

Tags: F1 Miami Grand Prix

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.