F1 Spanish Grand Prix: Verstappen Holds off Norris at Barcelona; Hamilton Returns to Podium

Max Verstappen clinched his 61st F1 victory by fending off a fast Lando Norris, with McLaren showing strong pace but ultimately outclassed by Red Bull and the Dutch driver.

By Divyam Dubey | on June 23, 2024 Follow us on Autox Google News

Verstappen continued his dominance in Spain, entering the record books with a remarkable three consecutive Spanish Grand Prix victories. Lando Norris, who qualified and secured pole position, saw his second race win dreams go up in smoke with a slow start. Despite a valiant effort, Norris crossed the finish line in second place, a disappointing 2.2 seconds behind the relentless Verstappen. This race was a turning point for Lewis Hamilton who, after a dry spell, secured his first podium finish of the season for Mercedes. Hamilton's teammate, George Russell, continued to impress, following closely behind in fourth place. A bright and sunny afternoon provided the perfect setting for this thrilling contest at the iconic Circuit de Catalunya in Barcelona.

Also Read: F1: Alpine Announces Flavio Briatore's Return as Executive Advisor

F1 Spanish Grand Prix: Race Result

Max Verstappen claimed victory at the Spanish Grand Prix with smart tyre management, securing his third consecutive win in Barcelona and solidifying his championship lead. While other drivers changed tyres frequently, Verstappen saved a fresh set of soft tyres for the final stint, giving him the edge.

F1 Ferrari

Ferrari struggled, with Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz finishing fifth and sixth. Alpine had a solid day, with Pierre Gasly and Esteban Ocon finishing ninth and tenth.

Red Bull's Sergio Perez, starting with a penalty from the previous race, fought back to take eighth place. Haas' Nico Hulkenberg finished eleventh, and Fernando Alonso ended up twelfth.

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Max Verstappen Red Bull 66 Laps
2 Lando Norris McLaren +2.219s
3 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes  +17.790s
4 George Russell Mercedes +22.320s
5 Charles Leclerc Ferrari +22.709s
6 Carlos Sainz Ferrari +31.028s
7 Oscar Piastri McLaren +33.760s
8 Sergio Perez Red Bull +59.524s
9 Pierre Gasly Alpine +62.025s
10 Esteban Ocon Alpine +71.889s
11 Nico Hulkenberg Haas +79.215s
12 Fernando Alonso Aston Martin +1 Lap
13 Zhou Guanyu Sauber +1 Lap
14 Lance Stroll Aston Martin +1 Lap
15 Daniel Ricciardo VCARB +1 Lap
16 Valtteri Bottas Sauber +1 Lap
17 Kevin Magnussen Haas +1 Lap
18 Alex Albon Williams +1 Lap
19 Yuki Tsunoda VCARB +1 Lap
20 Logan Sargeant Williams +2 Laps

Also Read: F1: Adrian Newey Reportedly Tours Aston Martin's Silverstone Factory Amid Ongoing Negotiations

VCARB's Daniel Ricciardo had a tough race, finishing fifteenth, with recent upgrades causing more problems. Yuki Tsunoda finished nineteenth, and Williams' rookie Logan Sargeant was twentieth.

Verstappen celebrated his dominant performance, while Lando Norris regretted his sluggish start, which cost him a chance at victory.

Tags: F1 Spanish Grand Prix

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.