MotoGP French GP: Martin Beats Marquez to Win Le Mans Sprint, Bagnaia Retires

Jorge Martin won the MotoGP French GP Sprint Race at the Bugatti Circuit in Le Mans, France. On his Prima Pramac Racing Ducati, the Spanish rider won the 13-lap race by 2.280 seconds.

By Divyam Dubey | on May 12, 2024 Follow us on Autox Google News

Francesco Bagnaia faced one of his toughest race starts yet, dropping from second to fourteenth in a surprising first-lap mishap. Meanwhile, Marc Marquez showcased his skill with a remarkable quadruple overtake outside turn two, propelling him from thirteenth to sixth. As the race progressed, Marquez surged forward, passing Maverick Vinales, to fourth place as Aleix Espargaro incurred a double Long Lap penalty for a jump start.

Bagnaia had trouble veering off the track, while Jorge Martin held on to the lead, with Marco Bezzecchi close behind. By lap seven, Alex Rins suffered setbacks in an incident, and Espargaro took his second penalty but only lost one position.

By the third lap's end, Bezzecchi closed the gap to less than six-tenths of a second between him and Martin, with Vinales also in contention. Martin, however, swiftly widened the lead, reaching eight-tenths on the next lap and a full second on lap seven, with Marquez now in third after Espargaro's penalty. Vinales narrowly missed fourth place in the final laps as Enea Bastianini surged past him. Pedro Acosta rebounded to secure sixth place after a close call earlier, leading among KTM riders on his Tech3 GasGas RC16. Fabio Di Giannantonio, Jack Miller, and Raul Fernandez secured the remaining sprint points.


Also Read: MotoGP: Kazakhstan Round Postponed Indefinitely Due to Extreme Flooding

Pos Rider Team Time
1 Jorge Martin Pramac Ducati 19m 49.694s
2 Marc Marquez Gresini Ducati +2.280s
3 Maverick Viñales Aprilia Racing +4.174s
4 Enea Bastianini Ducati Lenovo +4.798s
5 Aleix Espargaro Aprilia Racing +7.698s
6 Pedro Acosta Red Bull GASGAS Tech3 +9.185s
7 Fabio Di Giannantonio VR46 Ducati +11.190s
8 Jack Miller Red Bull KTM +11.516s
9 Raul Fernandez Trackhouse Aprilia +12.257s
10 Fabio Quartararo Monster Yamaha +12.699s
11 Miguel Oliveira Trackhouse Aprilia +13.492s
12 Franco Morbidelli Pramac Ducati +15.578s
13 Johann Zarco LCR Honda +16.439s
14 Alex Marquez Gresini Ducati +16.816s
15 Brad Binder Red Bull KTM +16.969s
16 Takaaki Nakagami LCR Honda +19.123s
17 Augusto Fernandez Red Bull GASGAS Tech3 +23.618s
18 Luca Marini Repsol Honda +27.854s
19 Marco Bezzecchi VR46 Ducati DNF
20 Alex Rins Monster Yamaha DNF
21 Joan Mir Repsol Honda DNF
22 Francesco Bagnaia Ducati Lenovo DNF

Also Read: MotoGP 2027 Technical Rule Changes Announced; Include Smaller Engine, Less Aerodynamics and More

Fan-favorite Fabio Quartararo clinched tenth on his Yamaha, while compatriot Johann Zarco settled for thirteenth on the LCR Honda. Sadly, Alex Rins and Joan Mir endured race-ending collisions.

Tags: MotoGP French GP

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.