Le Mans 24 Hours: 5 Most Successful Drivers at Circuit de la Sarthe

As the 2024 FIA World Endurance Championship gears up for the iconic Circuit de la Sarthe on June 15th, we've compiled a list of the five greatest Le Mans racing drivers based on their record-breaking wins.

By Divyam Dubey | on June 14, 2024 Follow us on Autox Google News

The 24 Hours of Le Mans is a gruelling endurance race that demands peak performance from both vehicles and drivers. While teamwork is essential for success, the extraordinary skills and talent of individual drivers can elevate them to legendary status. Held annually since 1923 at the challenging Circuit de la Sarthe, Le Mans has been the backdrop for countless attempts to conquer this prestigious event. Only a select few drivers have triumphed, securing their place among motorsport's elite. As we look forward to the next FIA World Endurance Championship at the iconic Circuit de la Sarthe, we delve into the illustrious history of Le Mans, highlighting the five most successful teams and drivers.

Also Read: Le Mans 24 Hours: Porsche Secures Dramatic Pole in Red Flag-Interrupted Hyperpole Session

Le Mans 24 Hours: Top 5 Drivers of All Time

Tom Kristensen

Tom Kristensen

Audi driver Tom Kristensen earned the title "King of Le Mans" with an unparalleled record. Not only did he match Jacky Ickx's impressive win tally, but he surpassed it with three additional victories. Kristensen's remarkable series of wins and podium finishes firmly established his legendary status in the world of endurance racing.

Jacky Ickx

Jacky Ickx

While Jacky Ickx wasn't a stranger to victory in Formula One, scoring eight wins over 116 races and even finishing runner-up in the championship twice, it was his dominance at Le Mans that truly cemented his status as a legend. He participated in the gruelling 24-hour race fifteen times, emerging victorious on six occasions and adding three more podium finishes to his impressive record.

Also Read: This McLaren Road Car Defeated the Purpose-built Le Mans Machines

Derek Bell

Derek Bell

This British driver truly shone in endurance racing. From 1970 to 1996, he participated in a whopping 26 Le Mans races. But it was between 1981 and 1988 that Bell truly dominated, securing an impressive four victories and three podium finishes, all piloting different Porsche models 

Emanuele Pirro and Frank Biela

Teamwork truly made the dream work for Emanuele Pirro and Frank Biela. These two drivers never tasted Le Mans victory outside of their partnership. Together, they dominated the race for eight years, securing a remarkable five wins between 2000 and 2007. Their success story unfolded with a historic three consecutive wins from 2000 to 2002 and another impressive back-to-back victory in 2006 and 2007.

Tags: Le Mans Le Mans 24 Hours

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.