MotoGP Bharat GP: VR46's Marco Bezzecchi Wins Inaugural Indian GP at BIC; Martin, Quartararo Complete Podium

Mooney VR46 rider Marco Bezzecchi created history when he won the first Grand Prix of India at Greater Noida's Buddh International Circuit. Jorge Martin of Ducati finished in second, just edging out Fabio Quartararo of Yamaha for the podium.

By Divyam Dubey | on September 24, 2023 Follow us on Autox Google News

VR46's Marco Bezzecchi has won the first-ever Indian MotoGP. Francesco Bagnaia's massive error moves Jorge Martin closer to the championship lead. Bagnaia and Martin went toe-to-toe throughout the opening half of the race, as Bezzecchi faded into the distance. After appearing to have beaten the Pramac rider on the entry to turn 5, the reigning champion crashed. With Bagnaia out of the way, Yamaha's Fabio Quartararo was able to take home his second podium of the year. The Frenchman came close to taking second from a weary Martin as the latter went wide on the penultimate lap. The Spaniard quickly rallied, retaking second place from Quartararo by the narrowest of margins before skipping Parc Ferme to ask for water from his pit box. Brad Binder of KTM finished in fifth place, with Joan Mir of Honda in sixth, his highest finish of the season. 

MotoGP Bharat GP: Grand Prix of India Race Result

Behind the trio of Ducatis, Marc Marquez was running in fourth place when he lost control on the brakes and went down at Turn 1. Marquez rejoined in 16th place and moved up to ninth. Espargaro had to return to the pits at the halfway point due to a technical issue, joining Augusto Fernandez along with Fabio di Giannantonio.

Also Read: MotoGP: 2024 Indian GP Race to Take Place in India on October 6 at the Buddh International Circuit

Both Alex Marquez and Luca Marini suffered fractures on Saturday, ruling them out of today's race. In qualifying for the Sprint race, Alex Marquez injured three ribs, and Marini shattered his left collarbone after he collided with teammate Marco Bezzecchi on Turn 1. Both of them won't be able to make it to the Japanese Grand Prix this coming weekend, either.

Pos Rider Team
1 Marco Bezzecchi Mooney VR46 Ducati
2 Jorge Martin Pramac Ducat
3 Fabio Quartararo Monster Yamah
4 Brad Binder Red Bull KT
5 Joan Mir Repsol Honda
6 Johann Zarco Pramac Ducati
7 Franco Morbidelli Monster Yamaha
8 Maverick Viñales Aprilia Factory 
9 Marc Marquez Repsol Honda 
10 Raul Fernandez RNF Aprilia
11 Takaaki Nakagami LCR Honda 
12 Miguel Oliveira RNF Aprilia 
13 Pol Espargaro Tech3 GASGAS 
14 Jack Miller Red Bull KTM 
15 Stefan Bradl LCR Honda 
16 Michele Pirro Ducati Lenovo 
DNF Fabio Di Giannantonio Gresini Ducati
DNF Francesco Bagnaia Ducati Lenovo 
DNF Aleix Espargaro Aprilia Factory
DNF Augusto Fernandez Tech3 GASGAS 

Also Read: MotoGP Bharat GP: RNF Aprilia to Race Both Bikes with the Indian Flag at Buddh International Circuit

MotoGP Bharat GP: Honda’s Joan Mir Finish 5th

MotoGP Honda 1

Joan Mir had a strong weekend finish, moving up to 5 place overall. He also left the queue with the first bunch. He maintained a steady pace throughout the race and finished fifth, his best finish of the year. Mir now has 11 points heading into the Japanese Grand Prix, which Honda will be hosting.

Márquez continued his strong Sunday performance and moved up to the front of the pack during the start of the race. On lap six of the race, though, he was involved in a minor crash that dropped him many places in the standings. The Repsol Honda Team rider re-entered the race in 16th place but made up significant ground to finish ninth.


Tags: MotoGP Bharat GP MotoGP Bharat GP VR46 Marco Bezzecchi Fabio Quartararo Jorge Martin

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.