Team MRF Tyres win the 2022 European Rally Championship!

After a shaky start to the season, Efrén Llarena and Sara Fernández bring home the European Rally Championship title for MRF Tyres with two round to spare. This makes MRF Tyres the first Indian team to win the ERC!

By autoX Editorial | on August 25, 2022 Follow us on Autox Google News

MRF Tyres is the first Indian team to win the European Rally Championship

MRF Tyres’ duo of Efrén Llarena and Sara Fernández have managed to win the 2022 European Rally Championship – with two races to spare! Their massive lead in the championship is despite the fact that their season got off to a poor start after a 12th place finish at Rally Serras de Fafe e Felgueiras.

After that season opener though, Efrén and Sara went on to clinch MRF Tyres’ first win in the European Rally Championship in the very next round. After this came a second place finish and a series of strong results which ultimately led to them being crowned champions. 

Sure, their main title rival Simone Tempestini, did not race in the crucial Czech Republic round of the ERC but, at that point, Llarena and Fernández already had a massive 58 point lead! Even if Tempestini did race, Llarena and Fernández would only need a seventh place finish to secure the title.

The ERC win is a huge achievement for Team MRF Tyres. The team has not just flown India’s flag high on an international level, but MRF are using their own set of tyres – designed and developed specially for the varying terrain that the ERC goes through.

Also read:

Oliver Rowland: End of an Era

TVS Young Media Racer Programme Round 2 – Victory!

Tags: Team MRF Tyres European Rally Championship ERC MRF

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.