Toyota Gazoo Racing announces 2020 WRC driver line-up

By Divyank Kushagra Bansal | on November 28, 2019

Toyota Gazoo Racing (TGR) has announced an all-new driver line-up for the 2020 WRC season. What's more, six-time WRC champion Sebastien Ogier will drive for the Japanese outfit as part of a 1-year deal. Ogier's departure from his current team, however, has translated into Citroen parting ways with WRC. Further, the 2020 WRC season is likely to be Ogier's last before he retires.

Sharing his thoughts on the journey ahead, Ogier said, 'I’m definitely very excited to be joining this team. It’s another new challenge for me and I’m looking forward to it. We already discussed it at the end of 2016, and although we didn’t manage to make it happen at that time, I’m now overwhelmed to start working with such an iconic brand as Toyota as well as my childhood idol Tommi Mäkinen. The plan is to aim for some success together and to try to win back the world championship.'

Joining Ogier in the 2020 driver line-up will be former Ford M-Sport WRC driver Elfyn Evans and 2019 WRC 2 Pro title winner from Finland, Kalle Rovanperä. While Evans has only driven for M-Sport Ford in his entire WRC career so far, this will be Rovanperä's maiden WRC outing. Both Evans & Rovanperä have signed two-year contracts with TGR.

Meanwhile, 2019 WRC champion Ott Tänak is set to move to Hyundai for 2020, where he'll be racing alongside his former competitor-turned-teammate Thierry Neuville. It'll be interesting to see the battle between the two Hyundai drivers as Neuville was the biggest title contender after Tänak, finishing the 2019 season in second place.

Tags: Toyota Gazoo Racing TGR WRC 2020 WRC Toyota

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.