Le Mans: Ferrari Beats Toyota, Porsche to Win 24 Hours Race for a Second Consecutive Year

Ferrari's Nicklas Nielsen claimed victory at the 2024 Le Mans 24 Hours, piloting the #50 Ferrari 499P hypercar alongside Antonio Fuoco of Italy and Spain's Miguel Molina. Together, they completed over 311 laps to secure the chequered flag.

By Divyam Dubey | on June 17, 2024 Follow us on Autox Google News

In a thrilling finish to the 24 Hours of Le Mans, Ferrari edged out Toyota for a dramatic win!  This marks Ferrari's second victory in a row at the legendary race. Danish driver Nicklas Nielsen, along with teammates Antonio Fuoco and Miguel Molina, took the checkered flag in their #50 Ferrari. The race was so close they nearly ran out of fuel, crossing the line with only 2% left!  Despite starting far back, they managed to hold off a strong challenge from Toyota's #7 car, which finished just seconds behind. Even with the wet track, Ferrari dominated the podium.  Their #51 car, driven by the same team who won last year, secured third place.  That 2023 victory was Ferrari's first overall win at Le Mans in nearly six decades, solidifying their return to the top of endurance racing.

Also Read: Le Mans 24 Hours: 5 Most Successful Manufacturers to Race at the Iconic Event

Le Mans 24 Hours: Hypercar Race Result

The 24 Hours of Le Mans podium remained just out of reach for Porsche Penske. Despite starting from pole position, the #6 car driven by Laurens Vanthoor, Kevin Estre, and Andre Lotterer crossed the finish line in fourth place.  Toyota also saw a car miss the top step, with their #8 entry piloted by seasoned champions Sébastien Buemi, Brendon Hartley, and Ryo Hirakawa coming in sixth.

Le Mans 2024 Ferrari

Pos Team Car No.
1 Ferrari AF Corse 50
2 Toyota Gazoo Racing 7
3 Ferrari AF Corse 51
4 Porsche Penske Motorsport 6
5 Toyota Gazoo Racing 8
6 Porsche Penske Motorsport 5
7 Cadillac Racing 2
8 Hertz Team JOTA 12
9 Hertz Team JOTA 38
10 Lamborghini Iron Lynx 63
11 Peugeot TotalEnergies 94
12 Peugeot TotalEnergies 93
13 Lamborghini Iron Lynx 19
14 Isotta Fraschini 11
15 Whelen Cadillac Racing 311
16 Proton Competition 99
17 BMW M Team WRT 20
DNF AF Corse 83
DNF Cadillac Racing 3
DNF Porsche Penske Motorsport 4
DNF Alpine Endurance Team 36
DNF Alpine Endurance Team 35

The endurance race took a turn for the worse for some teams as darkness fell.  BMW's challenge came to a complete halt when their #36 car was sidelined by engine problems.  Meanwhile, drama unfolded for the #35 car from the Renault-owned Alpine team.

Le Mans 24 Hours: LMP2 Race Result

In a dramatic turn of events during the 22nd hour, Nolan Siegel overtook #28 IDEC Sport's Reshad de Gerus to secure the LMP2 class victory for himself and teammates Oliver Jarvis and Bijoy Garg.  Job Van Uitert finished a close third, while last year's winning team, Inter Europol with Clement Novalak, Jakub Smiechowski, and Vladislav Lomko, took second place.

Pos Team Car No.
1 United Autosports 22
2 Inter Europol Competition 34
3 IDEC Sport 28
4 AF Corse 183
5 Vector Sport 10
6 AO by TF 14
7 DKR Engineering 33
8 Algarve Pro Racing 25
9 Panis Racing 65
10 COOL Racing 47
11 Nielsen Racing 24
12 COOL Racing 37
13 United Autosports USA 23
DNF Crowdstrike Racing by APR 45
DNF Duqueine Team 30
DNF Proton Competition 9

Also Read: Le Mans 24 Hours: New H24EVO Hydrogen-electric Prototype Revealed at Circuit de la Sarthe

Le Mans 24 Hours: LMGT3 Race Result

In a dominant performance, the #91 Manthey EMA 911 GT3 R driven by Richard Lietz, Yasser Shahin, and Morris Schuring secured victory for Porsche in the LMGT3 class of the WEC. 

Le Mans 2024 Porsche LMGT3

Pos Team Car No.
1 Manthey EMA 91
2 Team WRT 31
3 Proton Competition 88
4 Proton Competition 44
5 Iron Dames 85
6 Vista AF Corse 55
7 Akkodis ASP Team 78
8 Spirit of Race 155
9 D'Station Racing 777
10 Akkodis ASP Team 87
11 TF Sport 82
12 GR Racing 86
13 Inception Racing 70
14 Manthey PureRxcing 92
15 TF Sport 81
16 Iron Lynx 60
17 Proton Competition 77
DNF United Autosports 59
DNF United Autosports 95
DNF Heart of Racing Team 27
DNF JMW Motorsport 66
DNF Team WRT 46
DNF Vista AF Corse 54

Meanwhile, McLaren's day took a turn for the worse.  All three of their 720S GT3 entries, including the car that qualified in pole position, were hampered by various issues throughout the race. These problems prevented them from mounting a serious challenge for the win, leaving the spotlight firmly on Porsche and the #91 car.

Tags: Le Mans Le Mans 24 Hours Le Mans 24 Hours Race Result

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.