MotoGP: Pecco Bagnaia Wins 2023 World Championship at Valencia GP

After championship contender, Jorge Martin dropped out in an accident with Marc Marquez, Ducati's Francesco Bagnaia became the 2023 MotoGP world champion.

By Divyam Dubey | on November 26, 2023 Follow us on Autox Google News

With Jorge Martin's devastating crash at the Valencia MotoGP on Sunday, Francesco Bagnaia clinched the MotoGP world championship. Bagnaia, on his Ducati, was in the lead of the race, unaware of Martin's mishap. After Martin's Ducati-Pramac collided with Marc Marquez's Honda, both riders went tumbling. Martin went away raising his hands in frustration while Marquez, a six-time champion, limped out in his final race for Honda.

Bagnaia, who had the advantage of starting from pole when Maverick Vinales was penalised before the race, made a brilliant start and led the way into the first turn. But his rival for the championship, Martin, also got off to a strong start and was in second place after turn two having moved up from sixth. On lap 3, Martin was getting ready to make a move, but he was caught in the slipstream of the series leader and went wide. Martin made a mistake and fell to eighth, but he quickly recovered and passed Vinales to move up to sixth. Unfortunately, Martin's championship dreams were immediately crushed when he crashed just two corners later, hitting the rear of Marc Marquez's bike. Marquez was thrown from his Repsol Honda and with Martin out of the race, Bagnaia's lead was given up to the two factory KTM riders, with Brad Binder taking the lead.

Also Read: MotoGP: Luca Marini to Leave VR46 at the End of 2023, Honda Move Confirmed?

MotoGP Valencia GP: Race Result

Binder's luck changed for the worst on lap 14 when he ran off the track at turn 10 and lost five spots. Miller was about to secure KTM's first victory in a difficult year until he made a crucial mistake that caused a crash at turn 11.

Bagnaia regained the lead after this mistake, but Zarco has been persistent in his pursuit of a second victory this season. The fastest rider, Di Giannantonio, quickly passed Binder and then closed the gap on the front-runners. Di Giannantonio passed Zarco for second place and then set his sights on Bagnaia for the possible victory on the final lap.

Pos Rider Team Time
1 Francesco Bagnaia Ducati Lenovo  40m 58.535s
2 Fabio Di Giannantonio Gresini Ducati  +0.176s
3 Johann Zarco Pramac Ducati  +0.360s
4 Brad Binder Red Bull KTM  +2.347s
5 Raul Fernandez RNF Aprilia  +4.636s
6 Alex Marquez Gresini Ducati +4.708s
7 Franco Morbidelli Monster Yamaha  +4.736s
8 Aleix Espargaro Aprilia Factory  +8.014s
9 Luca Marini Mooney VR46 Ducati  +9.486s
10 Maverick Viñales Aprilia Factory  +10.556s
11 Fabio Quartararo Monster Yamaha  +12.001s
12 Takaaki Nakagami LCR Honda  +21.695s
13 Lorenzo Savadori RNF Aprilia  +43.297s
DNF Pol Espargaro Tech3 GASGAS   
DNF Alex Rins LCR Honda  
DNF Jack Miller Red Bull KTM   
DNF Augusto Fernandez Tech3 GASGAS   
DNF Enea Bastianini Ducati Lenovo   
DNF Marc Marquez Repsol Honda  
DNF Jorge Martin Pramac Ducati   

Also Read: MotoGP: Red Bull Could End Partnership with Honda Following Marc Marquez's Exit

Remarkably, this triumph represented the second straight year that Bagnaia secured the title on the last day. Despite Martin closing the margin to only 14 points with a Saturday victory in the sprint race, Bagnaia's consistency ensured his championship triumph.

Tags: MotoGP Valencia GP MotoGP Valencia GP Francesco Bagnaia Ducati

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.