MotoGP Spanish GP: Martin Wins Crash-Filled Sprint Race at Jerez

A tyre pressure penalty cost Fabio Quartararo third place in the MotoGP Spanish Grand Prix, sending Dani Pedrosa to the podium for the first time since 2017.

By Divyam Dubey | on April 27, 2024 Follow us on Autox Google News

The Spanish Grand Prix was a thrilling sprint, as Jorge Martin of Pramac took a firm hold of his MotoGP title lead when Marc Marquez's crash gave him the win among fifteen other riders who fell. At the start, Marquez took the lead after securing his first pole position since joining Ducati, but Brad Binder quickly overtook him. Then Marquez gave way to Jorge Martin, who quickly passed Binder to take the lead.

A crash at turn eight forced Aleix Espargaro to retire early from the race, while Jack Miller struggled but recovered from an incident at the last corner. As Marquez and Binder fought it out for the position, they traded second place until Alex Marquez made a bold move that momentarily upset the standings. But Marc Marquez quickly took back his lead with a better exit from the last bend.

Francesco Bagnaia was unfortunate to leave the race after Binder, Marco Bezzecchi, and him crashed at turn one due to an aggressive move by Bezzecchi. Lap four saw even more casualties as Fabio Di Giannanotonio slid out at turn 13.

Also Read: MotoGP Spanish GP: Here’s When, Where and How to Watch 2024 Jerez Race in India

When Jorge Martin lost control at turn seven, his dominating lead diminished and Marquez was able to contend for the lead, which he ultimately took at turn nine. On lap nine, though, the race took a sharp turn as Alex Marquez, Binder, and Enea Bastianini all lost their lives in separate crashes very soon after.

Pos Rider Team Time
1 Jorge Martin Pramac Ducati 19m 52.682s
2 Pedro Acosta Red Bull GASGAS Tech3 +2.970s
3 Fabio Quartararo Monster Yamaha +7.052s
4 Daniel Pedrosa KTM Test Rider +7.102s
5 Franco Morbidelli Pramac Ducati +8.481s
6 Raul Fernandez Trackhouse Aprilia +15.882s
7 Marc Marquez Gresini Ducati +18.131s
8 Augusto Fernandez Red Bull GASGAS Tech3 +18.278s
9 Miguel Oliveira Trackhouse Aprilia +18.418s
10 Joan Mir Repsol Honda +18.553s
11 Takaaki Nakagami LCR Honda +21.136s
12 Johann Zarco LCR Honda +21.948s
13 Fabio Di Giannantonio VR46 Ducati +23.478s
14 Jack Miller Red Bull KTM +37.901s
15 Alex Rins Monster Yamaha +62.288s
16 Lorenzo Savadori Trackhouse Aprilia +82.979s
17 Luca Marini Repsol Honda DNF
18 Stefan Bradl Honda Test Rider DNF
19 Maverick Viñales Aprilia Racing DNF
20 Alex Marquez Gresini Ducati DNF
21 Brad Binder Red Bull KTM DNF
22 Enea Bastianini Ducati Lenovo DNF
23 Marco Bezzecchi VR46 Ducati DNF
24 Francesco Bagnaia Ducati Lenovo DNF
25 Aleix Espargaro Aprilia Racing DNF

Also Read: WSBK: Bimota to Partner with Kawasaki in 2025 for the Superbike World Championship

Though he was leading, Marc Marquez was also involved in a spill at turn nine but was able to get back into the race. A lap later, Maverick Vinales did the same, and crashed at turn five. Martin calmly held his nerve in the face of mayhem to win the sprint race, finishing ahead of Pedro Acosta and Dani Pedrosa.

Tags: MotoGP Spanish GP

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.