MRF Challenge Finale Day 2: Michelangelo Amendola is the 2019-20 champion

By Divyank Kushagra Bansal | on February 16, 2020

Despite scoring no race win on the final day, Belgium's Amendola has become the 2019-20 MRF Challenge champion. Behind Amendola, Australia's Dylan Young finished as the championship runner-up. 

Heading into Day 2 of the final & third round with a comfortable lead of 34 points, 18-year-old Belgian driver Michelangelo Amendola has taken home the 2019-20 MRF Challenge crown, thanks to his five race wins over the 15-race season. This was Amendola's third MRF Challenge season, having achieved a fourth-place finish in 2018 and sixth-place in 2017. While Amendola managed to garner 247 points, Australian driver Dylan Young, who achieved an overall second-place finish, collected 223 points over the season. British driver Joshua Mason finished third overall with 176 points, although his day was marred by a collision with Manaf Hijjawi in Race 5 that forced them both to retire.

As for the day's results, Yuven Sundaramoorthy (USA), Louis Foster (UK) and Dylan Young (Australia) each scored a race victory today. Meanwhile, Amendola managed two podium-finishes, which coupled with his lead, was enough to seal the championship title. His second podium finish, however, came after an intense battle with Valdemar Eriksen (Denmark).

After the final race of the day, an ecstatic Amendola said, 'I am absolutely delighted that I finally won the MRF Challenge championship in my third season. Last season, I finished fourth in the championship and in 2017, I was sixth. So, I was determined to win the title this time. Now that I have won it, I am looking at a few options, but all depends on budgets and sponsorship. Motor racing is not very popular in Belgium, but I am hopeful.'

Here are the results for Day 2:

Race 4

1st - Y. Sundaramoorthy (#29) - USA

2nd - M. Hijjawi (#71) - Jordan

3rd - D.Young (#3) - Australia

Race 5

1st - L. Foster (#26) - Great Britain

2nd - Y. Sundaramoorthy (#29) - USA

3rd - M. Amendola (#8) - Belgium

Race 6

1st - D.Young (#3) - Australia

2nd - V. Eriksen (#85) - Denmark

3rd - M. Amendola (#8) - Belgium

Read more:

Ameo Super Race 2020: A fitting farewell to the Race Ameo

Tags: MRF Racing MRF Challenge

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.