2020 Berlin ePrix VI R11: Vandoorne leads a stellar one-two finish for Mercedes-Benz EQ FE team

By Divyank Kushagra Bansal | on August 14, 2020

With 28 points (25+3) in the final race, Stoffel Vandoorne finishes as runner-up in the 2019/20 Formula E season.

It was a 'dream' finish for Mercedes-Benz EQ FE team in the final race of the 2019/20 Formula E Berlin finale, as drivers Stoffel Vandoorne (#5) and Nyck de Vries (#17) secured a stellar one-two finish for the team, wrapping up the current season. Not only was this Mercedes' first victory of the season, but it was also Vandoorne's maiden Formula E win and de Vries' first-ever Formula E podium finish. 

Mercedes' dominance in the final race began right in the Superpole session  – it was the only team to have both its drivers in the session. Vandoorne started the race from pole, while his teammate started from fourth place.

This time, Sebastien Buemi (#23)) led the charge for Nissan and started the race from second on the grid, followed by Audi's Rene Rast (#66) who once again stunned everyone and took the third spot on the grid. De Vries made a clever move on Buemi and Rast, who were running short on usable energy during the race, and successfully managed to get ahead of them into second place. Meanwhile, Vandoorne led the race from start to finish, claiming the victory.

Folks at Nissan weren't too sad either, as Buemi claimed the final spot on the podium, followed by Rast in fourth place. Frijns' teammate Sam Bird (#2 - Envision Virgin Racing) rounded off the top five.

Thus, behind this year's Formula E champion Antonio Felix da Costa (#13), Vandoorne snatched the runner-up spot (87 points) from DS Techeetah's Jean-Eric Vergne (86 points) by a single point. Behind Vergne, both Nissan drivers Sebastien Buemi (84 points) and Oliver Rowland (83 points) rounded off the top five in the overall driver's championship.

In the constructors' championship, Nissan e.dams took the runner-up spot (167 points) behind champions DS Techeetah, as Mercedes-Benz (147 points), in its maiden Formula E season, secured third place overall.

Read more:

2020 Berlin ePrix V R10: Nissan's Oliver Rowland claims maiden victory, Rast fetches podium for Audi

2020 Berlin ePrix IV R9: Antonio Felix da Costa and DS Techeetah are the 2019/20 Formula E champions

Tags: ABB FIA Formula E Mahindra Racing

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.