F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix: Red Bull's Max Verstappen Beats Leclerc to Pole as Hamilton Struggles

In the final Formula One qualifying session of the season, Max Verstappen claimed the top spot for the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. After a difficult third practice session, the world champion showed his mettle at Yas Marina.

By Divyam Dubey | on November 25, 2023 Follow us on Autox Google News

In the final qualifying battle of the 2023 Formula 1 season in Abu Dhabi, Red Bull's Max Verstappen secured the pole position with Ferrari's Charles Leclerc following closely behind. Oscar Piastri of McLaren came in third place. Meanwhile, George Russell, the fastest Mercedes driver, moved up to the second row, making the starting lineup even more fascinating.

Lando Norris of McLaren ended up having to settle for fifth place after making a minor error on his penultimate lap in Q3. Yuki Tsunoda, AlphaTauri's brightest star, finished sixth, promising a spectacular performance. Aston Martin's Fernando Alonso finished seventh, and Haas' Nico Hulkenberg finished eighth. 

Conversely, Sergio Perez, in an unexpected turn of events, struggled to keep up with the pace set by his Red Bull teammate, ultimately finishing in a respectable ninth place after having a lap deleted for exceeding track limits.

Lewis Hamilton, despite his experience, was unable to improve upon his 11th-place finish. The Mercedes master, who was eliminated in Q2 for the second weekend in a row, gave an unexpected twist in Abu Dhabi's last duel.

Also Read: F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix: Here’s When, Where and How to Watch Season Finale Race in India

F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix: Qualifying Result

F1 Alpha Tauri

Ferrari's ambitions to overtake Mercedes for second place in the constructors' title have been struck a significant blow as Carlos Sainz finished in 16th.  Magnussen's performance in the new-spec Haas fell short of expectations, finishing 17th, in stark contrast to teammate Hulkenberg's earlier demonstration of prowess in the old-spec vehicle. Despite Hulkenberg's respectable eighth-place result in Q1, Magnussen was more than three-tenths behind.

Valtteri Bottas showed top-10 speed in his Q1 lap before falling out of contention despite a significant improvement on his second try. Zhou Guanyu struggled to match his teammate's pace, and his first Q1 lap was removed owing to track constraints.

Pos Driver Team Q1 Q2 Q3
1 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing 1m24.160s 1m23.740s 1m23.445s
2 Charles Leclerc Scuderia Ferrari 1m24.459s 1m23.969s 1m23.584s
3 Oscar Piastri McLaren F1 Team 1m24.487s 1m24.278s 1m23.782s
4 George Russell Mercedes F1 Team 1m24.337s 1m24.013s 1m23.788s
5 Lando Norris McLaren F1 Team 1m24.368s 1m23.920s 1m23.816s
6 Yuki Tsunoda Scuderia AlphaTauri  1m24.286s 1m24.207s 1m23.968s
7 Fernando Alonso Aston Martin Formula One Team 1m24.501s 1m24.131s 1m24.0845s
8 Nico Hulkenberg Haas F1 Team 1m24.425s 1m24.213s 1m24.108s
9 Sergio Perez Bull Racing 1m24.209s 1m24.116s 1m24.171s
10 Pierre Gasly Alpine F1 Team 1m24.600s 1m24.078s 1m24.548s
11 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes F1 Team 1m24.437s 1m24.359s  
12 Esteban Ocon Alpine F1 Team 1m24.565s 1m24.391s  
13 Lance Stroll Aston Martin Formula One Team 1m24.405s 1m24.422s  
14 Alex Albon Williams Racing 1m24.298s 1m24.439s  
15 Daniel Ricciardo Scuderia AlphaTauri 1m24.461s 1m24.442s  
16 Carlos Sainz Scuderia Ferrari 1m24.738s    
17 Kevin Magnussen Haas F1 Team 1m24.764s    
18 Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo F1 Team  1m24.788s    
19 Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo F1 Team  1m25.159s    
20 Logan Sargeant Williams Racing No Time Set    

Also Read: F1: McLaren Renews Mercedes Formula 1 Engine Deal Until 2030

Logan Sargeant, despite producing a time fast enough for the top 15, endured the pain of both his Q1 laps being eliminated for running wide around Turn 1. As a result, he finds himself at the back of the 20-car grid, with no lap time to his name.

F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix: About the Yas Marina Circuit

Situated on Yas Island near the vibrant capital of the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Abu Dhabi, the Yas Marina Circuit emerged as the esteemed venue for the inaugural Abu Dhabi Grand Prix in 2009. The 5.3-kilometre track has become synonymous with hosting thrilling day-and-night races, adding a unique dimension to the Formula One calendar. Notably, the iconic British Formula One driver, Lewis Hamilton, holds the distinction of being the most successful racer at the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, securing an impressive five titles.

In a display of team prowess, Mercedes and Red Bull Racing share the spotlight with an equal tally of six titles each, making them the joint record holders for the most race victories at the Yas Marina Circuit. This captivating circuit, bathed in the splendour of the Arabian sun, stands as a testament to the rich history and fierce competition that has unfolded beneath its lights.

Tags: F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Max Verstappen charles leclerc Lewis Hamilton

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.