F1 Monaco Grand Prix: Ferrari's Leclerc Wins Home Race, Edges Piastri After First-Lap Crash Causes Red Flag

Ferrari's Charles Leclerc claimed a stunning victory at the Monaco Grand Prix, winning his home race after a dramatic first-lap crash took out Sergio Perez and two other cars.

By Divyam Dubey | on May 26, 2024 Follow us on Autox Google News

With a strategic win at the Monaco Grand Prix, Charles Leclerc won his first home race. Leclerc held off Oscar Piastri to secure the top spot, while Carlos Sainz completed a 1-3 finish for Ferrari despite recovering from a Lap 1 puncture before the red flag. Lando Norris finished fourth, ahead of George Russell, while Max Verstappen ended where he started. Leclerc masterfully controlled the pace to avoid a pitstop advantage for McLaren, and he was able to withstand Piastri's push throughout the entire 76-lap race that followed the early red light. Yuki Tsunoda continued his strong performance with an eighth-place RB finish, while Alex Albon scored his first points of the season for Williams in ninth place, and Pierre Gasly did the same for Alpine in tenth. Sergio Perez had a crash on the opening lap, which brought out the red flag and eliminated Nico Hulkenberg and Kevin Magnussen of Haas. Thankfully, the incident that stopped the race for forty minutes did not result in any driver injuries.

Also Read: F1: Andretti Signs Former Formula 1 Technical Chief Pat Symonds

F1 Monaco Grand Prix: Race Result

Fernando Alonso managed a partial recovery after a challenging Saturday, finishing P11 for Aston Martin. He was followed by Daniel Ricciardo in P12 for Red Bull and Valtteri Bottas in P13 as the lead Kick Sauber driver.

Lance Stroll faced disappointment, finishing P14 for Aston Martin after a puncture following a pit stop in the race's second half. Williams’ Logan Sargeant came in P15, while Zhou Guanyu was the last classified driver, finishing P16 for Kick Sauber.

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 78 Laps
2 Oscar Piastri McLaren +7.152s
3 Carlos Sainz Ferrari +7.585s
4 Lando Norris McLaren  +8.650s
5 George Russell Mercedes +13.309s
6 Max Verstappen Red Bull +13.853s
7 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes +14.908s
8 Yuki Tsunoda VCARB +1 Lap
9 Alex Albon Williams +1 Lap
10 Pierre Gasly Alpine  +1 Lap
11 Fernando Alonso Aston Martin +2 Laps
12 Daniel Ricciardo VCARB +2 Laps
13 Valtteri Bottas Sauber +2 Laps
14 Lance Stroll Aston Martin +2 Laps
15 Logan Sargeant Williams +2 Laps
16 Zhou Guanyu Sauber +2 Laps
17 Kevin Magnussen Haas DNF
18 Sergio Perez Red Bull DNF
19 Nico Hulkenberg Haas DNF
20 Esteban Ocon Alpine DNF

Also Read: MotoGP Catalan GP: Bagnaia Bounces Back with Stellar Win Ahead of Martin, Marquez

Esteban Ocon retired after a collision with Pierre Gasly, which also earned him a five-place grid penalty for the next race in Canada. The first-lap crash also claimed Sergio Perez, Kevin Magnussen, and Nico Hulkenberg as retirees, making for a dramatic start to the event.

Tags: F1 Monaco Grand Prix

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.