Formula E Hyderabad e-Prix: Rules and Regulations Explained

Formula E Hyderabad e-Prix: The 2023 ABB FIA Formula E racing event will be lap-based, rather than time. The races will begin with a standing start when the lights turn green, with team drivers running the Gen3 Formula E cars.

By Kanika Sachdeva | on February 10, 2023 Follow us on Autox Google News

Formula E Hyderabad e-Prix: As Round 4 of Season 9 of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship draws near, the city of Hyderabad is all pumped up and excited to host the all-electric racing championship on February 11. The upcoming Formula E race will witness 11 teams and 22 drivers racing the new third-generation Formula E cars, designed specifically for the occasion. And with adequate arrangements, including security, already made, it looks like the countdown has begun. Formula E is an all-electric racing championship where teams race electric cars. It comprises two seperate titles - one for the drivers and another for the teams. The driver, who has scored the most points over the season, is awarded the Driver's World Championship. Whereas, the Team's World Championship is decided by factoring in the combined points score of both drivers. 

Also Read: Formula E Cars Explained: Generations, Top Speed, Battery and More

The FIA, the international governing body, is entrusted with the responsibility of devising racing series' sporting and technical regulations. The Formula E races begin with a standing start from assigned grid positions. The team drivers are allowed to start the race once the lights turn green. For 2023, the FIA has decided to switch to a 'Formula One styled' lap system. Now, the races will be based on laps, rather than a countdown. Earlier, the e-Prixs lasted 45 minutes plus 1 lap, as per rules. 

Formula E follows the standard FIA points system. According to the system, the team driver who wins gets 25 points, the second 18, the third 15, then 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2 and 1 points awarded to the other top-10 finishers. The driver starting at the Julius Baer Pole Position (front) is given three bonus points, and the driver for the fastest lap clinches one additional point. But, the driver has to finish in the top-10 positions to receive the TAG Heuer Fastest Lap.

Talking of qualifying format, Formula E has stuck to the 'Duel Qualifying' format since Season 8. Here, the grid is split into two groups, with Group A having drivers in odd positions and Group B having drivers in even positions. The top four drivers from each group advance into the knockout rounds, wherein the drivers are further divided into pairs. The divided pairs take part in 'duels'. The fastest pair progresses to the next round, leaving the final two to fight for the pole position. 

This year, 'Attack Charge' - fast charging technology - will be introduced at select e-Prixs. The newly created technology will allow a 30-second pitstop for Gen3 cars to increase the power output from 402bhp to 469bhp. However, Formula E does not have pitstops. 

Following Formula 1, the all-electric racing event has announced a rookie initiative. Each team must field a rookie driver in two free practice sessions in Season 9. This initiative will throw open opportunities for up and coming talents.

Also Read: Formula E Hyderabad e-Prix: Tickets, Venue, Schedule and Other Details

As the keenly awaited racing championship is set to take place in Hyderabad, Formula E fans can book tickets at Tickets are priced at Rs 1000 for Grandstand, Rs 4000 for Charged Grandstand, Rs 7000 for Premier Grandstand, and Rs 10,500 for Ace Grandstand. 

Tags: Formula E

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.