Formula E Shanghai E-Prix: Evans, Da Costa Win Rounds 11 and 12; Cassidy Extends Championship Lead

Mitch Evans representing Jaguar and Antonio Felix da Costa from Porsche emerged victorious in the inaugural Formula E races held in Shanghai, triumphing in Round 11 and Round 12, respectively.

By Divyam Dubey | on May 27, 2024 Follow us on Autox Google News

Nick Cassidy managed to extend his championship lead after the 11th and 12th Shanghai E-Prix. Mahindra, motivated by their first points of the season in Berlin, continued to show improved form in Shanghai. Nyck de Vries maintained a competitive pace with the leading pack in Round 11, ultimately finishing P7. In Round 12, de Vries was unfortunately taken out by Sam Bird in the final chicane. Maserati's Jehan Daruvala faced challenging qualifying sessions and could only manage P19 and P17 finishes in the two races. With four rounds remaining, Caissy leads the standings by 25 points over Wehrlein, with Evans trailing Wehrlein by 10 points in third overall.

Formula E Shanghai E-Prix: Round 11 Result

Mitch Evans emerged victorious at the inaugural Shanghai E-Prix, securing his win with a thrilling last-lap overtake on Pascal Wehrlein. Nick Cassidy rounded out the podium, contributing to a Jaguar one-three and a Porsche two-five finish. Oliver Rowland managed to claim fourth place while reigning world champion Jake Dennis finished in sixth.

Pos Driver Team
1 Mitch Evans Jaguar
2 Pascal Wehrlein Porsche
3 Nick Cassidy Jaguar
4 Oliver Rowland Nissan
5 Jake Dennis Andretti
6 Jean-Eric Vergne DS Penske
7 Nyck de Vries Mahindra
8 Sebastian Buemi Envision
9 Stoffel Vandoorne DS Penske
10 Lucas di Grassi Abt Cupra
11 Sacha Fenestraz Nissan
12 Robin Frijns Envision
13 Sergio Sette Camara ERT
14 Norman Nato Andretti
15 Nico Müller Abt Cupra
16 Jake Hughes McLaren
17 Sam Bird McLaren
18 Antonio Felix da Costa Porsche
19 Jehan Daruvala Maserati
20 Dan Ticktum ERT
21 Maximilian Günther Maserati
22 Edoardo Mortara Mahindra

Also Read: Formula E: Porsche Extends Commitment to Electric Series Until 2030

The race, held at the Shanghai International Circuit, was marked by its frenetic pace and high drama. Edoardo Mortara was the only driver to retire from the race. Maximilian Günther initially finished ninth but was handed a 10-second penalty for causing a collision, which affected his final position. Additionally, Antonio Felix da Costa was given a five-second post-race penalty, dropping him from fifth to 18th place.

Formula E Shanghai E-Prix: Round 12 Result

Antonio Felix da Costa secured a majestic victory in the second race of the Shanghai E-Prix double-header, while his teammate faced a significant setback in his campaign. Starting from third, Da Costa stayed with the leaders, strategically conserving his energy until the final laps.

Jake Hughes, who started on pole, finished second, marking his first-ever podium in Formula E. Norman Nato completed the podium in third and earned the fastest lap point. Championship leader Nick Cassidy extended his lead by finishing fourth, while Mitch Evans secured fifth place. 

Pos Driver Team
1 Antonio Felix Da Costa Porsche
2 Jake Hughes McLaren
3 Norman Nato Andretti
4 Nick Cassidy Jaguar
5 Mitch Evans Jaguar
6 Stoffel Vandoorne DS Penske
7 Jean-Eric Vergne DS Penske
8 Maximilian Günther Maserati
9 Robin Frijns Envision
10 Oliver Rowland Nissan
11 Jake Dennis Andretti
12 Sebastian Buemi Envision
13 Edoardo Mortara Mahindra
14 Sacha Fenestraz Nissan
15 Nico Müller Abt Cupra
16 Nyck de Vries Mahindra
17 Jehan Daruvala Maserati
18 Sergio Sette Camara ERT
19 Lucas di Grassi Abt Cupra
20 Pascal Wehrlein Porsche
21 Dan Ticktum ERT
22 Sam Bird McLaren

Also Read: Formula E: Nissan Nismo Unveils 'Smell My Dust' Perfume Combining Cherry Blossoms and Tyre Smoke

Stoffel Vandoorne finished sixth, followed by Jean-Éric Vergne, with Maximilian Günther, Robin Frijns, and Oliver Rowland rounding out the top ten.

Tags: Formula E Shanghai E-Prix

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.