Formula E Misano E-Prix: Rowland, Wehrlein Win Rounds 6 and 7; Da Costa Loses Due to Technical Infractions

Wehrlein and Dennis both hold the top spot in the Formula E Season 9 standings with 89 points each, while Rowland trails them by nine points, securing third place overall.

By Divyam Dubey | on April 15, 2024 Follow us on Autox Google News

In the thrilling debut race of Formula E at Misano, Oliver Rowland (Nissan) and Pascal Wehrlein (Porsche) emerged as the winners of Round 6 and Round 7, respectively. Notably, Jehan Daruvala showcased his prowess by surging from P21 to P9, earning his first points in Formula E during the Round 7 event. The competition is intense, with Dennis and Wehrlein currently tied at the top of the standings with 89 points each. Close behind is Rowland in third place, trailing by a mere nine points. Looking ahead, the Monaco E-Prix slated for April 27 promises another electrifying showdown. However, Mahindra endured another point-less outing as technical glitches during qualifying hindered their performance, depriving them of crucial data gathering for the new circuit on Friday.

Formula E Misano E-Prix: Round 6

Formula E Oliver Rowland

A technical issue dashed Antonio Felix da Costa's hopes for victory, allowing Oliver Rowland to claim the top spot at the inaugural Misano Eprix. While Saturday's race saw the Porsche driver narrowly edge out Rowland's Nissan, post-race technical inspections altered the final standings. Officials discovered that the Porsche had used a throttle damper spring that was not approved, resulting in the overturning of their win. Despite Porsche's assertion that they had been using the same part since the introduction of the Gen3 car last season, they admitted it was not among the sanctioned components.

Throughout the race, fierce competition prevailed. Da Costa made steady progress, manoeuvring into podium contention by Lap 5, closely trailing his teammate Wehrlein.

Da Costa managed to reclaim the lead with eight laps remaining, only to have Rowland swiftly overtake him on Lap 23. This exchange set the stage for a thrilling sprint to the finish line, with drivers meticulously managing their energy levels for a final push. Three laps from the end, da Costa regained the lead outside Turn 5, while Dennis, Jean-Eric Vergne (DS PENSKE), and Maximilan Guenther (Maserati MSG Racing) battled for the remaining podium positions. In a dramatic turn of events, former championship leader Pascal Wehrlein finished in P16 following a collision with Jean-Eric Vergne, while reigning world champion Jake Dennis staged an impressive comeback from 17th place to secure second position. Third place at Maserati's home race ultimately went to Maximilian Günther.

Formula E Misano E-Prix: Round 7

Formula E Pascal Wehrlein

In a dramatic turn of events at the Misano E-Prix double-header, Pascal Wehrlein managed to snatch victory in the last moments after Oliver Rowland abruptly lost the lead on the penultimate lap of the second race. Reigning world champion Jake Dennis secured second place, closely followed by Nick Cassidy in third, with Nico Müller narrowly missing the podium by a mere 0.050 seconds. Sacha Fenestraz clinched fifth place after McLaren's Jake Hughes received a five-second penalty for an off-course advantage.

While Pascal Wehrlein maintains his grip on the Formula E championship, the current frontrunner is now Jake Dennis, the reigning titleholder. Dennis demonstrated consistency with podium finishes in both races, while Wehrlein's triumph in the weekend's second race elevated their combined points tally to 89. Despite Rowland's Saturday victory, his stumble on Sunday places him nine points adrift from the top two, securing him third place overall. Maximilian Günther solidifies the top five alongside Nick Cassidy, who trails behind in fourth by a mere four points.

Formula E and Sony Deal

You can watch the 2024 Formula E Races live in India on Sony LIV. Formula E and Sony have agreed to collaborate for three more years. Fans can also experience a behind-the-scenes look at the Formula E race through the Sony Pictures Networks India show "Unplugged." In "Unplugged," viewers can catch a glimpse of Jehan Daruvala, the sole Indian driver representing Maserati MSG Racing.

Tags: Formula E Misano E-Prix Nissan Porsche

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.