INRC 2020 Round 2: Consecutive victories for Gaurav Gill in Itanagar

By Divyank K. Bansal | on December 20, 2020

Team JK Tyre reigned supreme in Itanagar once again as Gaurav Gill and Ammitrajit Ghosh brought home a 1-2 finish in Round 2 of the 2020 INRC season.

After a day's break, competitors were once again tearing up the streets of Itanagar in their rally machines during Round 2 of the 2020 INRC season. JK Tyre-backed and Arjuna Awardee Gaurav Gill and co-driver Musa Sherif were already in high spirits post their Round 1 victory and the duo managed to carry forward their top form by securing a strong win in Round 2 as well.

2020 INRC Round 2 Winners

The celebrations for JK Tyre though were a notch higher than the previous round as the team managed to secure a 1-2 finish, thanks to a stellar drive by Gill & Sherif's teammates Ammitrajit Ghosh and co-driver Ashwin Naik. Ghosh and Naik finished the rally just 1 min 33 seconds behind Gill, earning the former Mahindra Adventure duo a podium finish after a long gap.

2020 INRC Round 2 Runner Ups

MRF Tyres-backed privateer Karna Kadur (with co-driver Nikhil Pai), in his R2-spec VW Polo, also proved his mettle as he gave a good fight to his JK Tyre rivals and managed to secure yet another podium finish. This time though, Kadur and Pai finished third overall in the INRC 1 category.

2020 INRC Round 2 JK Tyre VW Polo

Though not on the INRC 1 podium in this round, JK Tyre's Dean Mascarenhas and co-driver Shruptha Padival once again managed to secure the top spot in the INRC 2 class.

Defending INRC champion Chetan Shivram (with co-driver Rupesh Kholay) of Team Yokohama, who suffered a DNF in Round 1, competed with a stock engine car in Round 2 and despite the power disadvantage, managed to secure a commendable 13th-place finish that earned him some valuable points in the championship.

2020 INRC Round 2 JK Tyre Parc Ferme

INRC debutant Pragathi Gowda (with co-driver Deeksha Balakrishna) of Team Vasundhara once again impressed the field and onlookers as she secured a third-place finish in the Junior INRC category, making it two back-to-back podium finishes in Itanagar.

Round 3 of the 2020 INRC season, as of now, is set to take place in Coimbatore from 8-10th January 2021.

Read more:

INRC 2020 Round 1: Gaurav Gill & Musa Sherif claim victory in Rally of Arunachal

Gaurav Gill & Musa Sherif bounce back with fifth consecutive Popular Rally victory

Tags: Gaurav Gill INRC JK Tyre

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.