MotoGP Italian GP: Bagnaia Holds off Marquez for First Sprint Win; Martin Crashes

Francesco Bagnaia clinched his first MotoGP sprint win of 2024 at the Italian GP, closing in on championship leader Jorge Martin, who crashed out.

By Divyam Dubey | on June 1, 2024 Follow us on Autox Google News

Francesco Bagnaia won the 2024 Italian MotoGP Sprint race, leaving Marc Marquez behind in second place. The championship leader, Jorge Martin, had a crash, forcing him to withdraw. Bagnaia, the reigning world champion, dominated the race from beginning to end. Although Marquez narrowed the gap briefly, Bagnaia held onto his lead. Rookie Pedro Acosta secured third place after Martin's crash, a good way to celebrate his promotion to KTM for the 2025 season and beyond. Enea Bastianini and Martin initially chased Bagnaia but collided, leading to Bastianini's crash. While there was an investigation, no penalties were issued. Unfortunately for Martin, he crashed out after Marquez overtook him. Initially slowed by Brad Binder, Acosta swiftly caught up and overtook the South African rider. Miguel Oliveira and Fabio Quartararo also crashed out early in the race.

MotoGP Italian GP: Mugello Sprint Race Result

Raul Fernandez secured a solid sixth place for the Trackhouse team in the race standings, while Alex Marquez and Aleix Espargaro followed closely in eighth and ninth, respectively. Further down the pack, Jack Miller and Marco Bezzecchi trailed behind, with Alex Rins of Yamaha making a commendable recovery from a poor start to finish 13th.

 MotoGP Peco Acosta

Also Read: MotoGP: Pedro Acosta to Join Red Bull KTM Factory Team in 2025, to Replace Jack Miller

Meanwhile, on a wildcard entry for KTM, Pol Espargaro clinched the 14th spot, while Johann Zarco salvaged a point for Honda in 15th place, as factory rider Joan Mir retired from the race.

Pos Rider Team Time
1 Francesco Bagnaia Ducati Lenovo 19m 30.251s
2 Marc Marquez Gresini Ducati +1.469s
3 Pedro Acosta Red Bull GASGAS Tech3 +4.147s
4 Franco Morbidelli Pramac Ducati +5.421s
5 Maverick Viñales Aprilia Racing +7.693s
6 Brad Binder Red Bull KTM +8.271s
7 Fabio Di Giannantonio VR46 Ducati +8.571s
8 Alex Marquez Gresini Ducati +8.846s
9 Aleix Espargaro Aprilia Racing +8.984s
10 Raul Fernandez Trackhouse Aprilia +10.085s
11 Marco Bezzecchi VR46 Ducati +10.199s
12 Jack Miller Red Bull KTM +13.988s
13 Alex Rins Monster Yamaha +14.137s
14 Pol Espargaro Red Bull KTM +18.259s
15 Johann Zarco LCR Honda +18.309s
16 Takaaki Nakagami LCR Honda +19.374s
17 Augusto Fernandez Red Bull GASGAS Tech3 +23.060s
18 Lorenzo Savadori Aprilia Racing +24.596s
19 Luca Marini Repsol Honda +25.587s
20 Jorge Martin Pramac Ducati DNF
21 Joan Mir Repsol Honda DNF
22 Enea Bastianini Ducati Lenovo DNF
23 Fabio Quartararo Monster Yamaha DNF
24 Miguel Oliveira Trackhouse Aprilia DNF

Also Read: MotoGP: Marc Marquez Rules Out Pramac, Eyes Factory Team for 2025

With Martin's mishap causing him to lose ground, his lead over Bagnaia narrowed to just 27 points heading into Sunday's grand prix, setting the stage for an exciting showdown between the two title contenders.

Tags: MotoGP Italian GP

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.