Petronas TVS Racing Secures Three Wins at 2023 National Supercross Championship

Petronas TVS Racing has finished with three wins in the first round of the 2023 Indian National Supercross Championship. Rugved Barguje, Prajwal V and Ikshan Shanbhag clinched P1, P2 and P3 under Group A (Foreign Open up to 500cc) category, respectively.

By Kanika Sachdeva | on April 7, 2023 Follow us on Autox Google News

Petronas TVS Racing, the country's first factory racing team, participated and finished with three wins in the first round of the 2023 Indian National Supercross Championship. The team remained unfettered and won in all three categories – Group A (Foreign Open up to 500cc), Group C (Indian Experts up to 260cc), and Group C (Novice up to 260cc). Rugved Barguje, Prajwal V, and Ikshan Shanbhag clinched P1, P2, and P3, respectively, for the team. TVS Racing is an Indian motorsport outfit, which competes in the Indian Rally Championship, Indian National Motorcycle Championship, and Dakar Rally. TVS' 'Track to Road' philosophy has been instrumental in designing high-performance motorcycles.

Also Read: TVS iQube E-scooter Surpasses 1 Lakh Sales Milestone in India

'Our riders put in remarkable efforts, and this victory is a testament to their hard work and dedication that has paid off. We are proud of their performances and will continue to work with them to maintain our winning momentum. The team is very motivated by its exemplary performance in the first round of the championship and is now looking forward to maintaining its winning streak throughout the championship. The team's success is a reflection of their skills, commitment, and passion for racing, and we can't wait to see more action-packed performances in the upcoming rounds,' remarked Mr Vimal Sumbly, Head Business – Premium, TVS Motor Company.

For this season, the race bikes receive improved engine and suspension modifications for better manoeuvrability, according to TVS. Moreover, the unnecessary weight of the bikes was reduced, which aided the riders' performance. 

Speaking of the riders, Rugved Barguje, Prajwal V, and Ikshan Shanbhag secured their spots in Group A (Foreign Open up to 500cc) category. All three rode the TR 300X to victory.   

On the other hand, Banteilang Jyrwa and Sachin D won in Group C (Indian Experts up to 260cc) and Group C (Novice up to 260cc) categories, respectively. The Group C riders rode the TR 200X, which is based on the TVS Apache RTR 200. 

TVS Apache RTR 200: Engine and Hardware

The TVS Apache RTR 200 is a racing bike that uses a 4-valve oil-cooled Fi engine, delivering 20.82bhp of maximum power at 9,000rpm and 17.25Nm of peak torque at 7,250rpm. The engine is mated to a 5-speed gearbox. For suspension duties, it gets front telescopic forks with preload adjuster and rear monotube shock absorbers. The bike uses petal disc brakes and comes with single- and dual-channel ABS.

TVS Apache RTR 200: Features, Prices

On the feature front, the TVS Apache RTR 200 comes with an AHO LED headlamp, adjustable clutch levers, a digital instrument cluster with Bluetooth, electric start, an engine kill switch, riding modes, and more. The bike currently retails between Rs 1.40 lakh and Rs 1.45 lakh (ex-showroom).

Also Read: TVS iQube S vs Ola S1 Pro Electric Scooter Comparison Review

In March this year, TVS Motor Company crossed a global sales milestone of over 50 lakh units for the TVS Apache series. The Apache brand was launched back in 2005 and became popular among the masses. One of the main rivals to the TVS Apache RTR 200 is the Bajaj Pulsar NS200. 

Tags: TVS Racing TVS Apache RTR 200 Apache RTR 200 National Supercross Championship

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.