Formula E: Nick Cassidy Grabs Maiden Win for Jaguar at Diriyah E-Prix, Takes Championship Lead

At the Diriyah E-Prix Round 3, Nick Cassidy of Jaguar TCS Racing calmly drove to victory, marking both his first win of Season 10 and the team's debut triumph.

By Divyam Dubey | on January 28, 2024 Follow us on Autox Google News

After a thrilling second Diriyah E-Prix, Nick Cassidy won his first race for Jaguar and surged to the top of the Formula E standings after a spirited battle with Robin Frijns. Starting from third place on the grid, the accomplished Jaguar driver showed his prowess by taking the lead on lap five. He had earlier finished third in the first race in Saudi Arabia.

Cassidy maintained his starting spot from the grid and moved up to second place after Oliver Rowland, who had started on pole, used his first attack mode. Amidst this, Robin Frijns maintained his lead over Rowland after the latter's first activation, taking the lead after a fantastic start from second place. Cassidy and Frijns took the lead in the 36-lap event after using their second attack mode. The race was one lap shorter than Friday's previous race. As both drivers sought to reduce energy use on the demanding Diriyah track, Frijns achieved notable progress.

Also Read: F1 and Formula E: What These Sports Can Learn from Each Other for the Modern Day Enthusiast

Cassidy skillfully fended off any threats, allowing him to secure his sixth E-Prix victory and a podium result in all three races of the year, even though Rowland was closing in on the leading duo. Cassidy, Frijns, and Rowland—all former teammates with Envision—were on the podium.

Formula E: Diriyah E-Prix Result

With a commanding 18-point advantage over Wehrlein, Cassidy currently leads the Drivers' World Championship overall. Vergne and Dennis round out the top three. On top of that, DS Penske is 29 points behind Jaguar TCS Racing in the Teams' standings. 

Pos Name Team Time Pts
1 Nick Cassidy Jaguar TCS Racing 43m51.868s 25
2 Robin Frijns Envision Racing +1.192s 18
3 Oliver Rowland Nissan Formula E Team +1.875s 18
4 Jake Hughes NEOM McLaren Formula E Team +2.931s 12
5 Stoffel Vandoorne DS PENSKE +3.397s 10
6 Sacha Fenestraz Nissan Formula E Team +4.598s 8
7 Pascal Wehrlein TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team +4.816s 6
8 Jean-Eric Vergne DS PENSKE +5.195s 4
9 Maximilian Günther Maserati MSG Racing +5.709s 2
10 Jake Dennis Jaguar TCS Racing +6.240s 2
11 Mitch Evans Mahindra Racing +6.866s 0
12 Edoardo Mortara Andretti Formula E +10.116s 0
13 Nico Müller ABT Cupra Formula E Team +14.462s 0
14 António Félix da Costa TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team +17.960s 0
15 Nyck de Vries Mahindra Racing +19.295s 0
16 Norman Nato Andretti Formula E +20.235s 0
17 Sérgio Sette Câmara ABT Cupra Formula E Team +21.564s 0
18 Lucas Di Grassi ERT Formula E Team +25.639s 0
DNF Daniel Ticktum ERT Formula E Team   0
DNF Jehan Daruvala Maserati MSG Racing   0
DNF Sam Bird NEOM McLaren Formula E Team   0

Also Read: F1: Visa Cash App RB Formula One Team is AlphaTauri's New Identity for the 2024 Season

On March 16, the fourth round of Season 10 of Formula E will take place in Sao Paulo.

Tags: Formula E Nick Cassidy Jaguar TCS Racing Diriyah E-Prix

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.