Formula E Misano E-Prix: Cassidy, Da Costa Win Rounds 9 and 10; Porsche Win their First Home Race

With a win in the first Berlin E-Prix and a second place in the second race, Nick Cassidy leads Pascal Wehrlein by 16 points, with Oliver Rowland trailing by six points.

By Divyam Dubey | on May 13, 2024 Follow us on Autox Google News

In round 9 of the Berlin E-Prix, Jaguar's Nick Cassidy clinched a huge victory, securing the top spot in the drivers' championship. Currently, Pascal Wehrlein is 16 points behind him, while Oliver Rowland is six points further behind in third place. It is noteworthy that the reigning champ Jake Dennis sits in fourth place, while Mitch Evans follows in fifth place. Together, they're separated by 43 points. It was also in the ninth round that Mahindra scored their first point of the season, which made it a successful round for them as well. Furthermore, during the 10th round of the season, Porsche achieved its first home victory of the season with Antonio Felix da Costa. This year, Berlin-Tempelhof Airport underwent a transformation, featuring a 2,343-kilometer track with fifteen corners with tight bends and fast curves.

Formula E: Berlin E-prix: Round 9 Race Result

With his victory in the Berlin E-Prix round 9, Nick Cassidy has catapulted to the top of the championship standings. Despite starting from tenth place, the Kiwi driver surged to victory with a commanding lead of 4.6 seconds. Just four laps before the finish line, Cassidy snatched the lead, solidifying his status as a contender.

Pos Drivers Team Time
1 Nick Cassidy Jaguar 46 Laps
2 Jean-Eric Vergne DS Penske 4.651
3 Oliver Rowland Nissan 4.915
4 Mitch Evans Jaguar 5.34
5 Pascal Wehrlein Porsche 5.631
6 Antonio Felix da Costa Porsche 5.76
7 Stoffel Vandoorne DS Penske 6.363
8 Edoardo Mortara Mahindra 7.221
9 Sacha Fenestraz Nissan 9.592
10 Taylor Barnard McLaren 9.644
11 Kelvin van der Linde Abt Cupra 10.133
12 Jordan King Mahindra 10.427
13 Paul Aron Envision 11.598
14 Dan Ticktum ERT 18.27
15 Jake Hughes McLaren 55.538
16 Sergio Sette Camara ERT + 1 LAP
17 Jehan Daruvala Maserati +1 LAP
18 Norman Nato Andretti +1 LAP
19 Jake Dennis Andretti DNF
20 Maximilian Günther Maserati DNF
21 Lucas di Grassi Abt Cupra DNF
22 Joel Eriksson Envision DNF

Also Read: Interview: 'GEN4 Cars Promise a Different Racing Style,' Says Nissan Formula E Driver Oliver Rowland

Navigating the redesigned Tempelhof Airport circuit with finesse, Cassidy executed a strategic energy conservation strategy, biding his time at the back of the pack for much of the race. It wasn't until the closing stages that he made his decisive move, claiming his second win of the season in dramatic fashion. In the midst of Formula E's characteristic chaos, Cassidy's triumph over rivals Jean-Eric Vergne and Oliver Rowland underscored his mastery of the track.

Formula E: Berlin E-prix: Round 10 Race Result

At the Berlin E-Prix, Porsche's home event, Antonio Felix da Costa won the tenth round of the series. Despite a setback earlier in Misano due to a technical issue taking his lead away, the skilled Portuguese driver secured his second on-road win of the season in Germany, showcasing his remarkable talent.

Pos Drivers Team Time
1 Antonio Felix da Costa Porsche 41 Laps
2 Nick Cassidy Jaguar 0.691
3 Oliver Rowland Nissan 2.82
4 Pascal Wehrlein Porsche 4.147
5 Jake Dennis Andretti 4.548
6 Mitch Evans Jaguar 4.953
7 Jehan Daruvala Maserati 6.032
8 Taylor Barnard McLaren 6.698
9 Joel Eriksson Envision 7.119
10 Jean-Eric Vergne DS Penske 7.357
11 Lucas di Grassi Abt Cupra 8.204
12 Jake Hughes McLaren 10.349
13 Sergio Sette Camara ERT 10.403
14 Paul Aron Envision 11.124
15 Kelvin van der Linde Abt Cupra 11.78
16 Edoardo Mortara Mahindra 12.143
17 Dan Ticktum ERT 12.642
18 Jordan King Mahindra 16.494
19 Norman Nato Andretti 20.851
20 Stoffel Vandoorne DS Penske 36.753
21 Sacha Fenestraz Nissan DNF
22 Maximilian Günther Maserati DNF

Also Read: Interview: Formula E Scouting 12 New Race Locations, Says CEO Jeff Dodds

Continuing his impressive performance from Saturday's race at the Tempelhof Airport circuit, Cassidy maintained his momentum on Sunday, finishing second after overtaking Oliver Rowland of Nissan during the final laps. Cassidy's swift move in Turn 1, coupled with his sustained lead for the initial three laps – even though Jake Dennis initially held the lead at the start – highlighted his brilliant racing prowess.

Tags: Formula E Berlin E-Prix

Write your Comment

Please tell us your city. This allows us to provide relevant content for you.